Schools Choral Competition 15/03/2017

Written by  in category 
March 18, 2017

This was our 4th annual competition for schools in the lower Swansea Valley catchment area, and the first without the man whose idea it was – our late Secretary, Layton Watkins. As a tribute to his tireless work for choral singing in Wales and beyond we had decided to name the winners’ trophy The J. Layton Watkins Trophy.
The four primary schools in the Final were Clase, Gwyrosydd, Danygraig, and Cwm Glas, with each singing a programme of not more than 10 minutes. As in previous years it was a joy to see and hear the reactions of those children who had never been in such an awe-inspiring chapel as Tabernacle before. Rather than being overawed, it seemed to bring out the best in their performances, giving the Adjudicators a hard task in separating them. Eventually they (composer Eric Jones, our MD D. Huw Rees, and our President Huw Tregelles Williams) gave first prize to Cwm Glas, with Gwyrosydd second, and Clase and Danygraig coming in a close joint third. The winners also received £200, and the 2nd and joint 3rd places each received a plaque and £50.
While the Adjudicators were deliberating we entertained the audience with a couple of songs, accompanied by Hywel Evans and conducted by an old friend, Glyn Williams, as our deputy MD Helen Wyn was unavailable.
We thank all the teachers and parents who helped to prepare their children for the competition, and also our sponsors, without whom the event would not be possible – Britannia Robbins, Computeraid, Debenhams, H. Phillips Electrical, Principality Building Society, and Wyevale Garden Centre
Some photos are HERE

No Responses